Head-to-head · Facts only
Bookly vs Literal: which reading tracker fits how you read?
Short answer
By The Shelf Desk · Published 2026-10-08 · Facts read September 2026, updated 2026-10-11
Desk research from public app store listings, app websites and help pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11. Fact profiles, not scores; we did not test the apps hands-on.
Bookly
TwoDoor Games (TWODOOR GAMES SRL)
iOS · MAC · ANDROID
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payNot in our sources
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
Literal
Literal GmbH
iOS · WEB
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsOn record
- Privacy labelOn record
- Ways to payOn record
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 7 of 8
How do Bookly and Literal compare row by row?
| Card row | Bookly | Literal |
|---|---|---|
| Print books | On record Scans ISBN barcodes. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Barcode scanning; highlights by camera. SourceSource: literal.club · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Ebooks | On record Tracks e-books. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Public-domain ebooks in the app. SourceSource: Literal on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Audiobooks | On record Tracks audiobooks. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Public-domain audiobooks in the app. SourceSource: Literal on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Goals and stats | On record Reading speed, session stats and daily to yearly goals. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Set a yearly goal and watch your stats. SourceSource: Literal on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Clubs and shared reads | Not offered No in-app clubs; readathons instead. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Free clubs with schedules and spoiler-aware chapter sections; the current Clubs version is being sunset (May 2026). SourceSource: Literal changelog · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Privacy label | Not offered Label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Label lists contact info, user content, identifiers and usage data linked to you; no data used to track you. SourceSource: Literal on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ways to pay | Not in our sources In-app purchases are mostly subscriptions; the $79.99 Bookly Pro item has no term stated. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Free; membership is optional. SourceSource: Literal: membership · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Picking a book back up | Not in our sources Timer and page log; no place-finding feature published. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources No place-finding feature published. SourceSource: literal.club · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Any social features | Not in our sources Readathons. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Social features are free for everyone. SourceSource: Literal: membership · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Core features free | Not in our sources Free download; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Free. SourceSource: Literal on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Android app | On record On Android. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not offered Listed as coming soon. SourceSource: literal.club · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Web version | Not in our sources A web version is not published. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record literal.club. SourceSource: literal.club · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do Bookly and Literal cost?
Bookly
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free with in-app purchases
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Literal
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free; no in-app purchases listed on the App Store
Source: Literal on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Optional membership: Plus $40 a year, Supporter $80 a year
Source: Literal: membership · Read 27 Sep 2026
Can you move your reading history between them?
Bookly
Goodreads import, listed on Google Play.
Source: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export: not in our sources.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Literal
Goodreads import from your public profile; StoryGraph CSV import.
Source: Literal: guides · Read 27 Sep 2026
An API for developers.
Source: literal.club · Read 27 Sep 2026
What are the limits of each?
Bookly
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you, with third-party advertising among the uses.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Many overlapping Pro options on the App Store.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
No in-app book clubs; community is through readathons.
Source: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
The Google Play listing says it contains ads.
Source: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Literal
Android is listed as coming soon.
Source: literal.club · Read 27 Sep 2026
The current version of Clubs is being sunset, per the May 2026 changelog.
Source: Literal changelog · Read 27 Sep 2026
Which one fits you?
Choose Bookly if
- you use Android
- Readers who like to time their reading and see their speed and streaks.
Choose Literal if
- you read with a club or a buddy
- you want an App Store label that lists no data used to track you
- you do not want a subscription
- you want to use it in a browser too
- Readers who want social reading without paying or seeing ads.
Common questions
Is Bookly better than Literal?
Neither is better for every reader. Only Bookly has an Android app; only Literal has clubs or shared reads, a privacy label without tracking data, a way to use it without a subscription and a web version. The tracker finder shows which one matches your own answers.
Which is cheaper, Bookly or Literal?
Bookly: Free with in-app purchases; US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed. Literal: Free; no in-app purchases listed on the App Store; Optional membership: Plus $40 a year, Supporter $80 a year. These are US prices read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11.
Can I use Bookly and Literal together?
You can, but most readers keep one reading log. If you plan to switch, compare the import and export facts above first.
Bookly profileLiteral profileTry the tracker finderSee both in the full table