Head-to-head · Facts only
Bookly vs Goodreads: which reading tracker fits how you read?
Short answer
By The Shelf Desk · Published 2026-10-08 · Facts read September 2026, updated 2026-10-11
Desk research from public app store listings, app websites and help pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11. Fact profiles, not scores; we did not test the apps hands-on.
Bookly
TwoDoor Games (TWODOOR GAMES SRL)
iOS · MAC · ANDROID
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payNot in our sources
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
Goodreads
Goodreads, Inc. (an Amazon company)
iOS · ANDROID · WEB
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsOn record
- Privacy labelOn record
- Ways to payOn record
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 7 of 8
How do Bookly and Goodreads compare row by row?
| Card row | Bookly | Goodreads |
|---|---|---|
| Print books | On record Scans ISBN barcodes. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Barcode scanner. SourceSource: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Ebooks | On record Tracks e-books. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Editions carry a format such as Kindle Edition or ebook, so you can shelve the ebook you read. SourceSource: Goodreads help: setting an edition's format · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Audiobooks | On record Tracks audiobooks. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Editions carry a format such as Audible Audio, so you can shelve the audiobook you listen to. SourceSource: Goodreads help: setting an edition's format · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Goals and stats | On record Reading speed, session stats and daily to yearly goals. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Reading Challenge and Year in Books. SourceSource: Wikipedia: Goodreads · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Clubs and shared reads | Not offered No in-app clubs; readathons instead. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Online book clubs and groups. SourceSource: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Privacy label | Not offered Label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Label lists data linked to you; data used to track you is not listed in our record. SourceSource: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Ways to pay | Not in our sources In-app purchases are mostly subscriptions; the $79.99 Bookly Pro item has no term stated. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Free, no subscription. SourceSource: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Picking a book back up | Not in our sources Timer and page log; no place-finding feature published. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources No place-finding feature published. SourceSource: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Any social features | Not in our sources Readathons. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Friend activity, author follows and clubs. SourceSource: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Core features free | Not in our sources Free download; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Free. SourceSource: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Android app | On record On Android. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Goodreads on Google Play. SourceSource: Goodreads on Google Play · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Web version | Not in our sources A web version is not published. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record goodreads.com. SourceSource: Goodreads: About us · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do Bookly and Goodreads cost?
Bookly
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free with in-app purchases
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Goodreads
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free, no subscription
Source: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Can you move your reading history between them?
Bookly
Goodreads import, listed on Google Play.
Source: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export: not in our sources.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Goodreads
Library export as a CSV file that StoryGraph, Fable, BookBuddy and Literal accept.
Source: Fable help: Goodreads CSV import · Read 27 Sep 2026
No new public API keys since December 2020.
Source: Wikipedia: Goodreads · Read 27 Sep 2026
What are the limits of each?
Bookly
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you, with third-party advertising among the uses.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Many overlapping Pro options on the App Store.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
No in-app book clubs; community is through readathons.
Source: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
The Google Play listing says it contains ads.
Source: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Goodreads
The public API stopped issuing new keys in December 2020.
Source: Wikipedia: Goodreads · Read 27 Sep 2026
The App Store privacy label lists data linked to you, used for analytics, personalization, app functionality and marketing.
Source: Goodreads on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Stats center on the Reading Challenge and Year in Books rather than charts.
Source: Wikipedia: Goodreads · Read 27 Sep 2026
The Google Play listing says the app contains ads.
Source: Goodreads on Google Play · Read 11 Oct 2026
Which one fits you?
Choose Bookly if
- Readers who like to time their reading and see their speed and streaks.
Choose Goodreads if
- you read with a club or a buddy
- you want an App Store label that lists no data used to track you
- you do not want a subscription
- you want to use it in a browser too
- Readers whose friends already log their books there.
Common questions
Is Bookly better than Goodreads?
Neither is better for every reader. Bookly has nothing on record that Goodreads lacks, while Goodreads has clubs or shared reads, a privacy label without tracking data, a way to use it without a subscription and a web version. The tracker finder shows which one matches your own answers.
Which is cheaper, Bookly or Goodreads?
Bookly: Free with in-app purchases; US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed. Goodreads: Free, no subscription. These are US prices read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11.
Can I use Bookly and Goodreads together?
You can, but most readers keep one reading log. If you plan to switch, compare the import and export facts above first.
Bookly profileGoodreads profileTry the tracker finderSee both in the full table