Head-to-head · Facts only
Bookly vs Fable: which reading tracker fits how you read?
Short answer
By The Shelf Desk · Published 2026-10-08 · Facts read September 2026, updated 2026-10-11
Desk research from public app store listings, app websites and help pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11. Fact profiles, not scores; we did not test the apps hands-on.
Bookly
TwoDoor Games (TWODOOR GAMES SRL)
iOS · MAC · ANDROID
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payNot in our sources
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
Fable
Fable Group Inc. (App Store seller; Google Play lists Scribd, Inc.)
iOS · ANDROID · WEB
- Print booksNot in our sources
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsOn record
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payOn record
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 5 of 8
How do Bookly and Fable compare row by row?
| Card row | Bookly | Fable |
|---|---|---|
| Print books | On record Scans ISBN barcodes. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources Barcode scanning is not published in the App Store listing or help centre. SourceSource: Fable help centre search: barcode · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ebooks | On record Tracks e-books. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Its own ebook reader and a catalogue of over one million interactive ebooks. SourceSource: Fable on the US App Store · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Audiobooks | On record Tracks audiobooks. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Listening activity from a linked Everand account updates in Fable; Everand is a subscription from $11.99 a month. SourceSource: Fable help: Everand books and activity sync · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Goals and stats | On record Reading speed, session stats and daily to yearly goals. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Goals, streaks and stats free; more goal types in Plus. SourceSource: Fable help: Fable Plus features · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Clubs and shared reads | Not offered No in-app clubs; readathons instead. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Free book and TV clubs with spoiler-free chapter rooms. SourceSource: Fable on the US App Store · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Privacy label | Not offered Label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not offered Label lists identifiers used to track you. SourceSource: Fable on the US App Store · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ways to pay | Not in our sources In-app purchases are mostly subscriptions; the $79.99 Bookly Pro item has no term stated. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Free core app; Fable Plus is optional. SourceSource: Fable help: Fable Plus price · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Picking a book back up | Not in our sources Timer and page log; no place-finding feature published. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources No place-finding feature published. SourceSource: fable.co · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Any social features | Not in our sources Readathons. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Clubs and discussion. SourceSource: Fable help: what is a book club · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Core features free | Not in our sources Free download; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Free core app. SourceSource: fable.co · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Android app | On record On Android. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record On Google Play. SourceSource: Fable on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Web version | Not in our sources A web version is not published. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record fable.co. SourceSource: fable.co · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do Bookly and Fable cost?
Bookly
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free with in-app purchases
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Fable
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free core app
Source: fable.co · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Fable Plus: $5.99 a month or $49.99 a year
Source: Fable help: Fable Plus price · Read 27 Sep 2026
Can you move your reading history between them?
Bookly
Goodreads import, listed on Google Play.
Source: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export: not in our sources.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Fable
Imports from Goodreads by in-app sign-in, or a CSV file (beta).
Source: Fable help: importing from Goodreads · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export: not published.
Source: Fable help centre search: export · Read 11 Oct 2026
What are the limits of each?
Bookly
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you, with third-party advertising among the uses.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Many overlapping Pro options on the App Store.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
No in-app book clubs; community is through readathons.
Source: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
The Google Play listing says it contains ads.
Source: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Fable
Fable Plus is the highest monthly price among the subscriptions here, at $5.99.
Source: Fable help: Fable Plus price · Read 27 Sep 2026
Google Play's data safety section says data may be shared with third parties.
Source: Fable on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026
Barcode scanning and data export are not published in the App Store listing or help centre.
Source: Fable help centre search: export · Read 11 Oct 2026
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers used to track you.
Source: Fable on the US App Store · Read 11 Oct 2026
Which one fits you?
Choose Bookly if
- you read print books and want to scan or photograph them
- Readers who like to time their reading and see their speed and streaks.
Choose Fable if
- you read with a club or a buddy
- you do not want a subscription
- you want to use it in a browser too
- Readers whose reading life runs through a club.
Common questions
Is Bookly better than Fable?
Neither is better for every reader. Only Bookly has print book support; only Fable has clubs or shared reads, a way to use it without a subscription and a web version. The tracker finder shows which one matches your own answers.
Which is cheaper, Bookly or Fable?
Bookly: Free with in-app purchases; US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed. Fable: Free core app; Fable Plus: $5.99 a month or $49.99 a year. These are US prices read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11.
Can I use Bookly and Fable together?
You can, but most readers keep one reading log. If you plan to switch, compare the import and export facts above first.
Bookly profileFable profileTry the tracker finderSee both in the full table