Head-to-head · Facts only
Basmo vs Bookly: which reading tracker fits how you read?
Short answer
By The Shelf Desk · Published 2026-10-08 · Facts read September 2026, updated 2026-10-11
Desk research from public app store listings, app websites and help pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11. Fact profiles, not scores; we did not test the apps hands-on.
Basmo
Book Vitals Inc.
iOS · ANDROID
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payNot in our sources
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
Bookly
TwoDoor Games (TWODOOR GAMES SRL)
iOS · MAC · ANDROID
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payNot in our sources
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
How do Basmo and Bookly compare row by row?
| Card row | Basmo | Bookly |
|---|---|---|
| Print books | On record Lists for print books; a page scanner for highlights. ISBN barcode scanning is not published. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Scans ISBN barcodes. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ebooks | On record Ebooks as a tracked format; Kindle import and sync. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Tracks e-books. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Audiobooks | On record Tracks books in any format, including audiobooks. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Tracks audiobooks. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Goals and stats | On record Reading statistics, a daily goal tracker and yearly goals. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Reading speed, session stats and daily to yearly goals. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Clubs and shared reads | Not offered No clubs; sharing is through quote designs. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not offered No in-app clubs; readathons instead. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Privacy label | Not offered Label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not offered Label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ways to pay | Not in our sources PRO is a subscription after a free 7-day trial; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources In-app purchases are mostly subscriptions; the $79.99 Bookly Pro item has no term stated. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Picking a book back up | Not in our sources Session timer and journal; no place-finding feature published. SourceSource: basmo.app · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources Timer and page log; no place-finding feature published. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Any social features | Not in our sources Shareable quote designs only. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources Readathons. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Core features free | Not in our sources Free download; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources Free download; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Android app | On record basmo.app links to Google Play; the App Store listing says Only for iPhone. SourceSource: basmo.app (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record On Android. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Web version | Not in our sources A web version of the tracker is not published. SourceSource: basmo.app (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources A web version is not published. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do Basmo and Bookly cost?
Basmo
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free with in-app purchases
Source: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- PRO: $4.99 billed monthly or $39.99 billed annually, after a free 7-day trial
Source: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Bookly
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free with in-app purchases
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Can you move your reading history between them?
Basmo
Imports Kindle highlights; syncs to Notion.
Source: Basmo on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export is through the in-app share feature.
Source: Basmo FAQ · Read 27 Sep 2026
Bookly
Goodreads import, listed on Google Play.
Source: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export: not in our sources.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
What are the limits of each?
Basmo
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you.
Source: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
No book clubs on the pages we read; sharing is through quote designs.
Source: Basmo on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
The App Store listing has not shown an update since version 2.8.57 on 05/05/2023.
Source: Basmo on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Bookly
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you, with third-party advertising among the uses.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Many overlapping Pro options on the App Store.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
No in-app book clubs; community is through readathons.
Source: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
The Google Play listing says it contains ads.
Source: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Which one fits you?
Choose Basmo if
- Readers who like to time sessions and keep a journal of what they read.
Choose Bookly if
- Readers who like to time their reading and see their speed and streaks.
Common questions
Is Basmo better than Bookly?
Neither is better for every reader. They have the same rows on record. The tracker finder shows which one matches your own answers.
Which is cheaper, Basmo or Bookly?
Basmo: Free with in-app purchases; PRO: $4.99 billed monthly or $39.99 billed annually, after a free 7-day trial. Bookly: Free with in-app purchases; US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed. These are US prices read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11.
Can I use Basmo and Bookly together?
You can, but most readers keep one reading log. If you plan to switch, compare the import and export facts above first.
Basmo profileBookly profileTry the tracker finderSee both in the full table